Teaching My Child How to Garden

I recently read this list of reasons why gardening is good for toddlers, and decided it was about time my three year old and I tried it out :

Nutrition – learning about where fresh food comes from

Creativity – finding new and exciting ways to grow food

Cooperation – including shared play activity and teamwork

Physical activity – doing something fun and productive

Reasoning and discoverylearning about the science of plants, animals, weather, the environment, nutrition and simple construction

Self-confidence – from achieving their goals and enjoying the food they have grown

Love of nature – a chance to learn about the outdoor environment in a safe and pleasant place

Understanding – as they learn about cause and effect (for example, plants die without water, weeds compete with plants)

Responsibility – from caring for plants

So I don’t have much of a green thumb, in fact even my plastic cactus from Checkers didn’t make it. But be that as it may, gardening is exceptionally important for kids.

So I’m taking it upon myself to try to teach my son about gardening, with the hope that we get to harvest what we plant and not kill everything.

I tried

 

At this point I feel I need to make a confession: I bought the first plant and didn’t start it off from seeds.

First we watered the plant:

water the plant

Then we unwrapped the planters, I think this was my sons favorite part,

play

Still playing in the wrapping, I think he has totally forgotten about the plant…:

playing

 

I’m sure we had a plan here…

unnamed (8)

After both of us getting distracted in play time, we put the plant in his home for now

planter

(Note the plant still needs to be re-planted) Im really not great at gardening, Oh well we’ll get there eventually, baby steps.

We will get some more plant ‘friends’ for Basil soon.

winethirty

One thought on “Teaching My Child How to Garden

Leave a Reply

