What is Bento? And other life saving products.

If you are a mom you might have heard of the term “Suicide hour”. Its a real thing, and most times it lasts much longer then just one hour. This is the definition on Urban Dictionary for those who don’t know:

the time of day between getting home from the school run and placing prepared food in front of one’s fractious offspring. Sometimes extends until children are dispatched to bed. Can often be halted by the pouring of drinks….
Suicide hour in my house usually consists of screaming, crying and hair pulling, and that’s just my reaction.

So, as I stated earlier, my son recently turned three, and those with small kids (or even big kids) will know that all kids go through picky eating phases. Some are more extreme than others, but its a phase they all go through. My son will eat everything and anything that I put in front of him one day, and the next, only eggs. And everything else is yukky!

69c59177eb59b6f23833fee94dd7a427

So my best (and healthiest) life saver is Squish 100% Fruit & Veggie Purée. This will stop a tantrum in its tracks. I usually have to hide them in my fridge, because if my son sees one he will instantly want it. Its a super awesome way for any picky eater to get in some good veggies. (I know a few grown ups who love the products as well) The packs are convenient, I can just open it up in seconds and my son is happy until dinner is served.

They are great for travelling, and even a school lunch snack. Squish have just launched a new breakfast range that I cant wait to try out!

download

Now for Bento…

What is Bento? Wikipedia has it as the following:

Bento  is a single-portion meal common in Japanese cuisine. A traditional bento holds rice, fish or meat, with pickled or cooked vegetables, usually in a box-shaped container. However, Japanese homemakers often spend time and energy on a carefully prepared lunch for their spouse, child, or themselves.

While I didn’t spend too much time and energy on my first attempt, I think with time I will get much better at it.

This was my first attempt:

20150704_114604

After googling the bear mould (the box was in Chinese) I realized that after pressing, it should go in the toaster, and I should have colored in the eyes and mouth. But my son loved it.

I also got the Dinosaur and Butterfly sandwich cutters. My son loved the dinosaurs and only half of the butterfly,, haha… Kids!

81dcf+UrJEL._SL1500_download (1)

I cant wait for my next bunch to arrive, I think I will try the Bento egg molds next! Let me know if you have any more fun ideas, I would love to hear from you!

9434c30f21005960c59971148706894b

Please note that all opinions expressed in this post are my own, and I was in no way sponsored or endorsed.

Leave a Reply

